clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

INTER in Group B

New, comments

Group B
Inter (Milan, Italy)
Werder Bremen (Bremen, Germany)
Panathinaikos (or PAO; Athens, Greece)
Anorthosis Famagusta (Larnaca, Cyprus)

Inter may have been a bit lucky in our draw: lucky not to have to face Chelsea like Roma, or Real Madrid like Juve, but that is not to say we do not have our work cut out for us.

.
.
José had this to say about the draw:

Looking at the teams we have to face, it's impossible to say whether it will be an easy group stage or not for us. Our first goal is to qualify, our second goal is to finish first in the group. We are of course very motivated and we are confident in our strength. We are eager to start this UEFA Champions League campaign but on Saturday we have our first game in Serie A against [UC] Sampdoria and we must only think about that for now.

So Mark Your Calender:
Upcoming Champions League Schedule for Group B

Tuesday, Sept 16: Panathinaikos - FC Internazionale
Wednesday, Oct 1: FC Internazionale - Werder Bremen
Wednesday, Oct 22: FC Internazionale - Anarthosis Famagosta
Tuesday, Nov 4: Anarthosis Famagosta - FC Internazionale
Wednesday, Nov 26: FC Internazionale - Panathinaikos
Tuesday, Dec 9: Werder Bremen - FC Internazionale

How does this fit into our league fixtures?

Sunday, Sept 14 we play Catania at home.
Sunday, Sept 28 we play Milan away (which is really also at home)
Sunday, Oct 19 we play Roma away
Sunday, Nov 2 we play Reggina away
Sunday, Nov 23 we play Juventus at home
Sunday, Dec 7 we play Lazio away

If we consider Werder Bremen to be our top competition in the group (which may not, in fact, be the case), then our only real worry is the Oct. 1 game. It is only three days after a derby that will definitely take our all to win. For the rest, I will leave it up to you to decide.

Oh, and in case you did not see, The Offside World Cup board has a new Forum page. There is an Inter Forum where I have started a thread on the upcoming Samp game.

Hope to see you there!

Ciao Ragazzi. Forse domani ci sarà Quaresma!