clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Europa League Preview: St. Etienne v Inter

New, comment

The Nerazzurri travel to France to cement a spot in the knockout round...

Marco Luzzani

After the embarrassing loss at the weekend to Serie A's bottom side, Parma, Inter look to the Europa League to find the hop in their step again.

THE VITALS

Date: Thursday, November 6, 2014

Venue: Stade Geoffroy-Guichard, St. Etienne, France

Time: 19.00 CET / 1.00 pm ET / 10.00 am PT

BATTLE DOSSIER

Inter Probable Lineup: Carrizo; Andreolli, Vidic, Juan Jesus; Obi, Medel, Kovacic, Kuzmanovic, Dodo, Palacio, Icardi

St. Etienne Probable Lineup: Ruffier, Theopile-Catherine, Perrin, Sall, Tabanou, Clement, Corgnet, Lemoine, Monnet-Paquet, van Wolfswinkel

Unavailable For Duty: Dani Osvaldo, Yuto Nagatomo, and Fredy Guarin are back and available for selection, but Jonathan and M'Vila are still out.  Rene Krhin has been ruled out due to the flu.

Operation Game Plan: The plan is to simply have a plan. After a run of absolutely lackluster matches where the players have absolutely no cohesion, the team needs to look like they actually know what they're doing.

Fear Factor: 5: Same as the last time these two teams met up two weeks ago, but Inter should put this match away based on quality of players.

Enemy Of The State: Themselves. Right now, what is hurting the team more than the opponents is the fact that this team looks lethargic and unmotivated.

Medal Of Honor: I'm giving this one to us, the fans. This is not a pretty time to be an Interista, but by golly, we are here still sticking it out.

Likely Outcome: I will stay positive and say 1-0 for Inter. We need to win, even if it's "only" the Europa League.