clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Live Match Thread: World Cup Semifinal 1 - Brazil v Germany

New, comments

Please feel free to comment about the matches in this post and DON'T FORGET TO UPDATE YOUR BRACKETS.

Hernanes
Hernanes
Jamie McDonald

We are down to the Final Four.  There is not much to say about tonight's teams.  These two countries have an astounding EIGHT World Cups combined.  Two powerhouses of world football collide for a chance to play in the granddaddy of them all.

Brazil have an immense amount of pressure, as the Selecao feel the weight of a nation on their shoulders.  The squad is noticeably weaker for tonight's clash than earlier in the tournament, as Neymar is out of the Cup with a fractured vertebrae (GET WELL SOON, NEYMAR) while Thiago Silva, the heart of the defense, is suspended due to yellow card accumulation.  Now is as good as a time for everyone else to step up, as one more win gets them to the Maracana for the final on Sunday.

Germany has done everything necessary to move on.  The frightening thing about Die Mannschaft is that they are nowhere near their full potential.  Their squad has a great spine and starting eleven, with impressive depth to boot.  With the majority of the players still playing in the Bundesliga, their success is yet another testimonial of how the nation's domestic league is soaring.  With Neymar and Thiago Silva out, Jogi Loew's men will look to take full advantage of the situation.

Germany have become slight favorites over Brazil, especially with the casualties the Selecao have suffered.  Tune in to see who makes it to Sunday.

Who: Brazil v Germany

Where: Estadio Mineirao, Belo Horizonte, Brazil

When: 21.00 CET / 4.00 pm ET / 1.00 pm PT

Inter players featured: Hernanes (Brazil)

PS - DON'T FORGET TO UPDATE YOUR BRACKETS