clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

UCL Knockout Stage Draw: Open Thread

Inter will learn its opponents for its first UCL Round of 16 clash in ten years

Real Madrid v Internazionale - UEFA Champions League Photo by David S. Bustamante/Soccrates/Getty Images

UPDATE: Because of a technical error, the draw is scheduled to be redone at 9 a.m EST, 3 p.m CET. All previous results are void, including Inter vs Ajax. Check out this Football Italia article for a more in-depth explanation of what forced the redraw.

Inter fell short of wrapping up its Champions League group stage on a high note with a 2-0 loss to Real Madrid, but at long last, the Nerazzurri are still alive in Europe’s premier competition as the New Year approaches. After three straight years of group stage exits, Simone Inzaghi has guided his side back to the Round of 16 for the first time in a decade. Inter will learn its knockout round opponents shortly, with the draw scheduled to begin at 6 a.m Eastern/11 a.m GMT/12 p.m CET. Inter will be drawn with one of the group winners, but can’t draw teams from its country or UCL group, so Juventus and Real Madrid are both off the table. Here are Inter’s six possibilities for the Round of 16.

  • Bayern Munich
  • Manchester City
  • Liverpool
  • Manchester United
  • Lille
  • Ajax

The first three names on that list surely strike fear in most Inter hearts but the Nerazzurri have a more than decent shot at the latter trio. Even if Inter’s unfortunate enough to get Bayern, Liverpool, or Man City, just seeing the good guys back on this stage is cause for a smile. The Nerazzurri probably need something resembling a miracle if it's to actually win the Champions League, so Inzaghi’s side may as well go out playing the very best, rather than having regrets against a weaker side.

What do you think? Who would be your first choice for Inter’s Round of 16 opponent?

Poll

Who do you want to see Inter matchup against?

This poll is closed

  • 10%
    Ajax
    (9 votes)
  • 8%
    Bayern Munich
    (7 votes)
  • 8%
    Manchester City
    (7 votes)
  • 21%
    Manchester United
    (18 votes)
  • 9%
    Liverpool
    (8 votes)
  • 42%
    Lille
    (36 votes)
85 votes total Vote Now