clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

International Break: Nerazzurri in action on Thursday

Marco Luzzani/Getty Images

(Editor's Note: This article has been edited to reflect that Gary Medel is, in fact, Chilean, that yesterday was indeed Thursday, and that Fredy Guarin is a Colombian international. Sorry for any confusion I may have caused yesterday. I'll have to talk to my newborn about allowing me more time to sleep at night.)

Yuto Nagatomo (Japan):
Syria v Japan at 9:00 a.m. ET / 15:00 CET (World Cup Qualifying Match)

Yes, this one happened already. Sorry about that. But after winning today's match against Syria by a score of 3-0, Japan sit atop Group E in WC Qualifying with 10 points. Syria are in second with 9. Nagatomo started the match and played the entire match.

Adem Ljajic (Serbia):
Albania v Serbia at 2:45 p.m. ET / 20:45 CET (UEFA Euro Qualifying Match)

These two sides meet again in a politically-charged match about a year after their previous encounter in Serbia was abandoned mid-match. Ljajic's side don't stand a chance of going through at this point, with 1 point from 6 matches in Group I.

And, terrifyingly enough, a bus carrying Serbia's national football players was hit by stones within hours of the team arriving in Albania yesterday. Thankfully, no players were hurt, but tensions will certainly be very high for this one. Watch the match on ESPN3 and SKY GO.

Jeison Murillo & Fredy Guarin (Colombia):
Colombia v Peru at 4:30 p.m. ET / 22:30 CET (World Cup Qualifying Match)

Yes, the South American soccer federation is already beginning WC qualifying for Russia 2018. Most eyes will be on Radamel Falcao as he attempts to silence his critics from this summer's Copa America. Inter fans will be hoping to see Murillo and Guarin in action as Colombia will likely coast to victory at home against a relatively weak Peruvian side. Catch the match on beIN Sports CONNECT USA and Fubo TV

Miranda (Brazil) & Gary Medel (Chile):
Chile v Brazil at 7:30 p.m. ET (today)/ 1:30 CET (tomorrow) (World Cup Qualifying Match)

Brazil begins its Russia 2018 qualifying campaign with an important litmus test against newly minted CONMEBOL champions Chile without star striker Neymar, while Inter fans hope both Miranda and Medel get a run-out. Watch the match on beIN Sports USA and Fubo TV.